The ‘Parochial Church Council of the Ecclesiastical Parish of Holy Trinity Cuckfield’ (known as ‘Holy Trinity Church Cuckfield’ for short) is a United Kingdom registered charity (No. 1131432.) The role of the Parochial Church Council (PCC) is to promote in the parish the whole mission of the Church – pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical. As Charity Trustees, PCC members are responsible for ensuring the Parish delivers these charitable outcomes while remaining solvent and well-run.

Active involvement in the PCC is encouraged. The PCC includes 12 Lay Members each elected for a term of three years at the Annual Parochial Church Meetings held in April; some who are members by their position (the Clergy, Readers and Churchwardens); and some through their membership of the Diocesan or Deanery Synods (to which they have been separately elected).

The Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Electoral Roll Officer and Parish Safeguarding Officer are officers elected by the PCC.

For further information on the activities of the PCC and on how to be nominated for election to it please contact the PCC Secretary, David Thunder.

Current PCC Members

RoleNameRetiringPCC post
ChurchwardensBrian CutlerLay Vice Chair
Jane Coan
ReadersClive Simmonds
Vicky Peattie
Deanery Synod RepresentativesJill Brotherton2023
Rod Montague2023Safeguarding Co-ordinator
Isobel Simmonds2023
Lay PCC membersMark Parker2022
Nick Rowe2022
Kevin Sibley2022
Roger Edmonston2023
Paul Johnson2023
Carolyn Ponder2023
Philip Richings2023
Kate Berry2024
Jonathan Berry2024
David Thunder2024PCC Secretary
Hilary Turner-King2024
Orlando MilfordCo-optedHon Treasurer
Fr Stephen CapleCo-opted

School Foundation Governors

The PCC approves nominations of Foundation Governors to the Holy Trinity CE(A) Primary School Governing body, for appointment by the Diocesan Board of Education:

  • Diocesan Foundation Governors (2 posts) are recommended to the Diocesan Board of Education by the PCC;
  • PCC Foundation Governors (5 posts) are appointed by the PCC with the approval of the Diocesan Board of Education;
  • The Vicar of Cuckfield is the eighth and ex officio Foundation Governor.

Certain of the posts are reserved for parents or guardians of a child registered at the School.

If you would like to consider applying to be a Foundation Governor please discuss this with the Chair of Governors or the PCC Secretary in the first instance and then download the Information Sheet and Nomination Form. Governors will normally be expected to be regular attendees, at least monthly, at their local church. While Communicant Anglicans are preferred, strong consideration will be given to those who can demonstrate their commitment to their local church in other ways; and practising members from other Christian congregations (that is churches affiliated to ‘Churches Together in Britain and Ireland’ or ‘The Evangelical Alliance’) are also eligible to be appointed as Foundation governors; and the Diocese welcomes the opportunity to work with other Christian Churches in this way.

The Diocese is also happy to accept nominations from those who do not meet the above criteria if there are reasons in terms of the needs of the school and the skills of the person nominated that are made clear in the application. Each application will be considered on its own merit.